Move over Jillian, here comes Daisy (sigh)

Reviews are beginning to trickle in at Amazon for Daisy Fuentes Pilates for Wii, which came out this past Tuesday, and they’re not good.  So far, there is one 3-star review and three 1-star reviews.  Maybe it’s still early, but I doubt there are hordes of Daisy fans who are too busy playing this game to post their raves.  This is more like a repeat of the reaction to Jillian Michaels’ Fitness Ultimatum 2009.  Same story, different celeb.

I was afraid of this – Sega’s a solid company, but they’re known more for Sonic the Hedgehog than exergaming, plus this was produced by the same outfit that did JMFU.  But I didn’t want to sound like a Negative Nellie, and besides, it’s not totally impossible for a game with a licensing deal to be good (see Gold’s Gym Cardio Workout, which is basically an imported Japanese boxing game with Gold’s logos plastered all over).  So I try to keep an open mind about these games, but I did want to post my “caveat emptor” warnings about exergames in advance of Daisy’s release.  I hope it helped someone think twice before buying.  (And my thanks and sympathy to the Amazon reviewers who took one for the team.  I gave you all helpful votes!)

What really gets me is, I can’t find any reviews anywhere else except Amazon.  And I can’t be the only one, since people are hitting my blog after searching on “daisy fuentes wii reviews”.  The only “reviews” that seem to be out there are hype, fluff and press releases, like this interview on a casual-gaming site.  And then there’s this on a morning TV show which is misleadingly titled “Daisy Fuentes Does Pilates”, but I’ll save you the trouble of loading the video by telling you she only briefly mentions the game amid a bunch of giggling about hair products.

Does anyone know of a fitness-gaming site that gives unbiased, honest reviews of fitness games, preferably before or soon after their release?  The gamer sites usually wait months to review exergames, if ever.  People want this info and I hate to see them get ripped off.

UPDATE:  IGN has reviewed Daisy Fuentes Pilates and gave it a 4.5, or Poor.

Posted on August 7, 2009, in Celebrities, Just sayin' and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

