Pushups

At my lightest, about 3 years ago, I used to be able to bang out a set of between 20 and 25 pushups on my toes. (I could do even more if my feet were elevated; I think my shoulders are stronger than my chest muscles.)

Today, I’m a little bit heavier, and I have trouble just doing a set of 10. So now that the kids are back in school, I’m going to work on getting my pushups back up to their peak. I started this morning by doing 3 sets of 7, with about a 15 second rest in between. Finisher: 2 games (10 songs) of DDR Extreme, doubles.

Posted on September 15, 2009, in Dance Dance Revolution, Workout log and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Hi Sue!
    Here’s a trick you might want to try that I told my 15yr old about a year ago when he could only do 2o or so push-ups. Now he an do 50+ in one set: when you’re watching a TV show (especially a cooking show like Top Chef) each time there’s a commercial, drop down and do 5 GOOD push-ups…only 5, for a week or so. By the end of a typical 30 minute show you’ll end up doing about 25-35 push-ups without even trying hard…do that for a week or two, adding 1 or 2 more reps each week and I “GAR-ROWN-TEE” you’ll be bangin’ out 25 to 30 in one set after about a month!

    Just my 2 cents.

    F.

    • Thanks for the advice! I am trying to “grease the groove” by doing smaller sets…and trying to lower the weight burden at the same time (and cooking shows do NOT help me in that area :)).

Leave a Reply

