The First Lady of good sports

Check out this video of Michelle Obama that was taken yesterday at a kids’ fitness event at the White House. First she rocks the hula hoop (no wonder my daughter wants one!) and then she gives double-dutch jump rope the old college try, before finishing off with an obstacle course.

Whether she’s passing (the hula hoop) or failing (the jump rope), Michelle looks like she’s having the time of her life.  And isn’t that what it’s all about?  I just don’t get why so many grownups – especially women – will look at an activity and say “Oh I could never do that” or “I’ll make a fool of myself!” and then go off and do something normal, like analyzing the latest Jon & Kate news while scarfing a donut.

How would you know you could “never” do something, unless you try it?  I tried waterskiing once as a teenager, and after seventeen tries – yes, I counted – and not getting up once, I threw in the towel (actually it was the boat operator who said enough).  But at least I tried, and I bet if I practiced enough, I could do it.  I was also a complete mess the first time I tried DDR, and the first time I tried a “dancy” workout video, and so on.  But the trying was FUN and that’s why I kept doing it.  And I hope I keep on discovering fun new ways to move my body.

One of my favorite slogans is, “When was the last time you did something for the first time?”  Challenge yourself with something new, no matter how it makes you look.  (And to Ms. Obama: put a DDR machine on the White House lawn next year!)

Posted on October 22, 2009, in Celebrities, Just sayin' and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

