Another core workout for Wii: Active Life Outdoor Challenge

We are in the heart of the “snowmageddon” zone – 2 major blizzards in 4 days – so not only do we have to do our workouts indoors, but I need to strengthen up my muscles for shoveling 40-plus inches of snow.  I already spent several hours on Monday shoveling around my street, and my shoulders, butt, abs and arms are still aching.  So until I can get out and shovel again, once the high winds and whiteout conditions have died down, I’m working out my core with Wii.

This is one time I regret not having a balance board s0 I can enjoy wintery games like the We Ski or Shaun White series.  So instead I’m escaping to the tropical setting of Active Life Outdoor Challenge.  This is a superb exergame for the whole family, and some of its mat minigames are great for those shoveling muscles.

Three that stand out in that category are the kayak game, the mine cart game and the pipe slider game.  In the kayak game, you just stand on the mat and vigorously “paddle” with your remote down a raging river.  In mine cart, you pump the remote up and down to power your cart through a twisty mine, and whenever there’s a curve in the track, you have to lift one foot off the mat and balance on one leg while pumping.

Mine cart game (images from Gamespy)

But the biggest upper body workout of all is the pipe slider.  In what is maybe unique among mat games, you have to sit on the mat and bang on the arrows to push your sled forward through a pipe.  Think of pushing your sled down a not-so-steep hill.  Your shoulders and arms will burn!

Pipe slider game

Special honorable mention goes to the mountain boarding game, which requires you to not only stand on the mat and steer by stepping on the arrows, but also whenever a tunnel appears, you have to “duck” into the tunnel by leaning over and striking the mat with one hand.  This getting-down and getting-up is fantastic for the whole body.

Active Life Outdoor Challenge is nothing compared to the REAL outdoor challenge awaiting me outside my door, but it’s a fun way to get myself prepared for the real thing.  To everyone else in the blizzard zone, best wishes and stay safe!

Posted on February 10, 2010, in Exergaming, Gameplay and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. That looks like a blast! Do you know whether you can use your existing DDR mat with Active Life Outdoor, or do you have to have the game-specific mat?

    • Hi Maureen! I tried my DDR mat with Active Life Outdoor Challenge, and it didn’t work. I don’t know if you can even buy the game separately from the mat, anyway.

Leave a Reply

