Row, row, row your Wii

More Wii fitness gadgets are on the way.  Amazon is now listing a rowing machine in which you insert a Wiimote.  Looks like a good workout, but I don’t know what games you would use it with.  There are rowing games in Wii Sports Resort, Active Life Outdoor Challenge and Mario & Sonic at the Olympics, but all of them use a paddling motion from side to side rather than back and forth.  Attaching your remote to an actual paddle might be a better way to add resistance if you really have to.

Another add-on, this one for the balance board, is a wobble board attachment.  So when you play We Ski or Shaun White, you can wipe out for real, or you can practice your balance while just watching TV.

Posted on May 9, 2010, in Exergaming, Gameplay and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. These both look very interesting Sue, thanks for posting about them! ‘Course, I’m a gadget junkie, lol. The wobble board looks like it could be fun – and I hope they come out with some rowing games for that rowing attachment. I would try to rig up something to use my actual rowing machine with the Wii then, heh. 😀

    • Hi Sara, thanks for stopping by and commenting! I too would be more interested in the wobble board, and if you already have a rower (I’m jealous!) just rubber-band your Wiimote to the handlebars and you’ll be in business, I would think 🙂

  2. LOL, yep, I think you’re right – rubber bands (or velcro straps or something?) to attach to the rower handle should work fine. Now to wait for rowing games…though I suppose I oughta try Walk It Out with the treadmill one of these days, too! 😆

Leave a Reply

